Saturday/Sunday 11/12th May 2002

Overall Results

Results by Class

Results by Ability

Results after Saturday route ~ Results after Night route

Results of Night route ~ Results of Regularities ~  Results of Tests

Test Times ~ Brandiston Times

Time Card 1 ~ Time Card 2 ~ Time Card 3 ~ Time Card 4 ~ Time Card 5 ~ Time Card 6

Entry List

Supporting the East Anglian Air Ambulance

Chelmsford Motor Club announces its annual historic road rally, The East Anglian Classic.

The rally is a round of the HRCR Historic Road Rally Premier Challenge 2002 incorporating the HRCR Newcomers Challenge, the HRCR Nocturnal Challenge and the HERO Challenge for pre 1960 cars, as well as the EMAMC 2002 Historic Championship. The event is based at the Holiday Inn on the southern outskirts of Norwich and once again will be supporting the East Anglian Air Ambulance, a charity that aims to provide 24 hour airborne response across Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire funded entirely by public donation. Competitors are offered the opportunity to make a contribution using the entry form.

The route covers over 275 miles throughout north Norfolk. During the Day Legs there will be a number of special tests at RAF West Raynham and other smaller airfields and surfaced tracks, linked together with simple pre-plot and plot and bash regularity sections. The night leg will feature a 140 mile route over the classic Norfolk lanes including in at least one airfield driving test. Straight-forward navigation instructions should allow everybody to complete the route. No rough whites will be used; we will only offer smooth surfaces. On Sunday morning there will be a number of driving tests at the Norfolk Showground, followed by a buffet lunch and prize giving.

Previous Winners

1994 Steve Drewery / Bill Granger Honda S800
1995 Geoff Breakell / Nigel Raeburn Alfa Romeo Giulia
1996 Geoff Breakell / Nigel Raeburn Alfa Romeo Giulia
1997 Sid Ormrod / John Thornley  Mini Cooper 998
1998 Adam Wiseburg / Ian Frazer  Porsche 911S
1999 Peter Horsburgh / Alistair Bell Austin Mini Cooper S
2000 John Parsons / Gavin Rogers  Ford Escort Mexico
2001 Jamie Turner / Graham Raeburn Hillman Imp 875